Dylan made me do it, Week 1

 

If you don’t follow Dylan Winter’s Keep Turning Left video diaries you need to start.   Dylan is slowly circumnavigating the coast of Britain and has dozens of video logs of his journey.   Very entertaining.   Read more about Dylan and Keep Turning Left.   Recently Dylan has built a duck punt sailboat and his building videos and sailing adventures have given me the bug to build a similar duck punt too.  I just completed building Alice Gale and was looking for a sailboat for use on a shallow stretch of the Colorado River below Parker AZ.

My first job was to clean the garage and build a new storage cabinet to store my tools and supplies.

Wood to build cabinet

Now that the cabinet is finished and loaded with tools and supplies it is time to start the duck punt.   This duck punt is based on the plans for the West Mersea Duck Punt by John Milgate.   Free plans are available here as posted on Keep Turning Left.     I have maintained the general lines of the boat and assembled a building jig as specified in the plans.

Details of building jig and temporary frame

Next I will be removing the duck punt from the building jig,  install interior frames,  sheath the hull and build out the floatation spaces.   The duck punt is looking more like the stitch and glue version designed by Flo-Mo as I am using lightweight 6mm plywood and cedar frames along with other design cues shown in Flo-Mo photo’s.

5 responses to “Dylan made me do it, Week 1

  1. Coupla questions… did you cut rocker into the panels or is the spread of the shear providing all the rocker? Did you use butt blocks and how much did this affect the fairness of the curve of the sides where the block is…and what did you make the butt blocks out of?

  2. No rocker was cut into the panels by me. Shear came from the spread. I did use butt blocks made of the same plywood material. I did not see any problem with the fairness of the sides. Using larger width ply may make a difference with the issues you raised, but my ply was so thin (5 mm) that I had no issues. I will be fiberglassing over my hull once I finish the interior. The original West Mersea duck punts use 10mm ply, that is doubled in some areas, so this build is significantly different in approach and follows the design cues provided by Flo-mo in the stitch and glue version.

  3. Building an ‘experimental’ sailing pirogue similar to WM punt. I note you used Sandeply . Any thoughts at this point on suitability? Little or no info from manufacturer.(Ecuador)
    I know its not marine grade but a few years of dry sailing worth the compromise.
    You simplified that fussy transom in a quite elegant fashion.
    My pirogue may give way to the Punt.

    • My punt was purpose built towards lowest cost and fast building time. The Sandeply was available at the local hardware box store so I used it. I would recommend using ‘real’ marine quality plywood for any new boat as the few dollars saved may not be worth the difference in cost after all your labor and efforts are put into the construction. So far I have had good luck with the Sandeply but it is in dry storage most of the time so it isn’t being subjected to a harsh environment at all. I would like to hear more details of your own duckpunt build.

Leave a Reply

